The Blue Springs School District, located on the eastern edge of the Kansas City metro area in Jackson County, covers a total of 58 square miles and includes students from the communities of Blue Springs, Grain Valley, Independence, Lake Tapawingo and Lee’s Summit.  Annual enrollment is approximately 14,447.  We are one of the growing areas in the state, increasing our student body by over 100 each year.

     Our mostly middle to upper-middle class community enjoys a stable economy.  Within our school district boundaries, we have more than 80,000 residents.  Our close proximity to Kansas City allows residents easy access to a variety of social, cultural and educational opportunities.  There is also convenient access to over 54 colleges, universities and technical schools in the metro area. If you have any questions regarding this page please contact the district office at (816) 224-1300. 


Our district has the following facilities:

School Type

Number in District


Elementary (K-5)



Middle School (6-8)



Freshman Center (9)



High School (10-12)



Early Childhood/MHP



Alternative High School Program